Hell Hath No Fury was the second album by this all female U.K. trio.  The album was originally released in the U.K. by A&M Records with the cover on the left.  When Hell Hath No Fury was released in the U.S. (in 1984, also on A&M Records), the album had this cover.  Also, the U.S. version swapped out two tracks from the original U.K. version and replaced them with Hell Hath No Fury and I Didn’t Know I Loved You (Till I Saw You Rock & Roll).  This review is based on the U.S. version (because I’m a patriot… and because it’s the one I own).

The U.S. version kicks off with the title track.  As vocalist Jody Turner sings the refrain “Hell hath no fury — like a woman scorned!” I can’t help but think of the plot to every Lifetime Channel original movie ever made.  This track, along with the album’s second cut, the Gary Glitter cover I Didn’t Know I Loved You (Till I Saw You Rock & Roll) were the two tracks inserted on the U.S. release of the album.  Both seem to be rather obvious attempts to recreate some sort of Joan Jett situation.  Joan Jett had a huge hit with I Love Rock ‘n’ Roll in the U.S. in 1982.  These two Rock Goddess cuts try to follow the same hit-making formula, with overwrought drums and chanted anthemic refrains.  Both leaving much to be desired.  Side one continues with the pop sewage of Gotta Let Your Hair Down, causing one to wonder where Rock Goddess’ hard rock legitimacy has gone.  With the great rock producer Chris Tsangarides on board, its disappointing to hear these toothless, gimmicky throwaways.  Fortunately side two makes a bit of a recovery, with You’ve Got The Fire and It Will Never Change charging back behind the lean and crunchy guitar riffs of Ms. Turner.  But all in all, Hell Hath No Fury fails to make a lasting impression.  My score: C+

