Bezerker – “Lost” (1989)

Bezerker!  This one is pretty rare.  I sure as hell don’t own a copy (I have a ripped CD).  In fact, I had a hard time finding a decent pic of the cover on the net.  The best I could come up with is the small pic on the left.  I’ve never seen a copy in the flesh.

Lost was the only album by Australia’s Bezerker.  It was independently released by Extremely Fine Records (probably a private pressing by the band).  I’m really kind of surprised this album doesn’t get even a little recognition.  This is a pretty enjoyable late eighties technical thrash album.  The most distinguishing feature on Lost, for me, would be the clean vocals of Pat Cummins.  He had a bit of a Joey Belladonna thing going on.  You have to respect these clean-voiced guys who to “sing” over technical thrash.  This form of music doesn’t really lend itself to singing.  It’s just hard to put a melody over all these rhythmic discombobulations.  Cummins gives a yeoman’s effort, and at minimum, makes things interesting.  While some tracks on Lost, particularly towards the end of the album, don’t really coalesce into anything all that memorable, there are a few really good tracks to cherry pick.  The lead track Take All, as well as Halloween, are two really nasty cuts.  My personal favorite, though, would be something I consider to be no less than a thrashterpiece!  I’m talking about the amazing I Lost, which is frantic and schizoid (in a good way), and features a really great chorus.  One of my all-time favorite thrash songs.  Check it out!  My score: B

8 thoughts on “Bezerker – “Lost” (1989)

  1. My name is Keith James Stevens, and I was the bass guitarist with Bezerker from 1988 through to 1991 when the band split up. I still possess a limited number of remaining vinyl “Lost” LPs, including original first-off test-pressings, if anyone is interested.
    Bezerker was formed in Adelaide, South Australia, in 1988, and toured Australian capital
    cities regularly. After recording the full-length vinyl LP “Lost” in December 1989, and supporting Faith No More in 1990, Bezerker re-located to England and performed a number
    of dates in London and Liverpool. Bezerker played their last show on August 3rd, 1991, in
    Hampton Wick, London, and split due to paralysing chronic and acute financial poverty.

Leave a Reply

