Enuff Z’nuff – “Enuff Z’nuff” (1989)

Enuff Z’nuff’s debut arrived in 1989 with one of the laziest attempts at an album cover you’ll ever see.  Not that I don’t like peace, but jeesh, they couldn’t have spent more than 0.2 seconds designing that album cover.  Then again, I guess we are lucky they didn’t put a band photo on the cover because these guys were REALLY dolled up.  Tons of makeup, lipstick, and bright colors.  Check out their video for lead single New Thing for a taste of Enuff Z’nuff’s “fashion” sense.

Sure, the look was really girlie and glam at the time (they shed that image soon thereafter), but the actual music is addictive, effervescent, power pop.  Big guitars, raspy vocals, and hooks for days is what you get with these Cheap Trick-influenced party boys.  Just take a listen to the aforementioned New Thing and you have to immediately respect Enuff Z’nuff’s songwriting abilities.  Infectious doesn’t even begin to describe New Thing.  You can get cavities just listening to this sweetness!

I read Howard Stern’s book Private Parts many years ago (lots of laughs), and he wrote quite a bit about Enuff Z’nuff as I recall.  They were one of Howard’s faves.  In this case, Howard knew what he was talking about.

Enuff Z’nuff also features the band’s best known cut, the melancholy Fly High Michelle.  Another great song with an awesomely awful video.  Oh well!  Deep tracks such as She Wants More, Little Indian Angel, and For Now sound great while driving around on a warm summer’s day.  I listen to this quite a bit.  A little ain’t enuff.  Time to update my cassette to CD though, this ain’t 1989 anymore.  (What’s that you say?  CDs are obsolete now, too?  WHAT THE F*CK!)  My score: A-


2 thoughts on “Enuff Z’nuff – “Enuff Z’nuff” (1989)

  1. “actual music is addictive, effervescent, power pop. Big guitars, raspy vocals, and hooks for days is what you get with these Cheap Trick-influenced party boys.”

    I also noticed this myself, very accurate description.

    As far as the album cover is concerned, I love those types of album covers, like Spinal Tap’s 1st album, and Metallica’s “Metallica”.

    …”Time to update my cassette to CD though, this ain’t 1989 anymore. (What’s that you say? CDs are obsolete now, too? …”

    No way, what every out-dates CD’s I am not going to switch to that format…for the years 1980 — 1990, the best way to collect for- era, is Vinyl, Cassette, & CD.

    I switched from Vinyl, cassette to CD in 1997, (mostly because I was having problems with cassettes, being a unstable format). But if CD’s go outdated I will just collect, what was original pressed back during the CD age, of the golden age of heavy metal.

    • Agreed! I’m trying to get all my stuff moved to CD. Not really a fan of iPods. I have had three break on me. Plus, I need the physical copy with art and liner notes.

Leave a Reply

