Vinnie Vincent Invasion – “Vinnie Vincent Invasion” (1986)

Vinnie Vincent InvasionAfter helping KISS get off the mat with the strong Lick It Up album, Vinnie Vincent was out on his ass after the ensuing tour.  Since it is clear to me that Vinnie’s songwriting talents were instrumental in reviving KISS, I’m surprised that his own band failed to pique my interest here.  After all, with the burdensome weight of Gene and Paul off his back, one assumes Vinnie now had the necessary breathing room to excel.  As it turns out, maybe Gene and Paul weren’t holding Vinnie back as much as keeping him in check.  I find Vinnie Vincent Invasion to be a rather disappointing listen.  The sound is thin and screechy.  The mix could definitely use a bass boost.  Robert Fleischman’s high register vocals don’t work for me.  It’s not that I dislike high vocals, I just find the timbre of Fliecshman’s voice a little off-putting.  Furthermore, Vinnie’s solos were hyper fast exercises in piercing, scrambled, cacophony.  My score: C

9 thoughts on “Vinnie Vincent Invasion – “Vinnie Vincent Invasion” (1986)

  1. “Vinnie’s solos were hyper fast exercises in piercing, scrambled, cacophony.” Bingo! Yeah my impression as well. I’ve always said when Vinnie is restrained (like in Kiss) he’s brilliant. Left to his own devices, he’s lost.

    Second album was better.

  2. Ever since he left Kiss, Vinnie Vincent has moaned that KISS was always Paul and Gene’s band. Maybe he’s right. I have always like the song Boyz Are Gonna Rock on this album.

  3. I guess you don’t get the album. I like the first album much, much more than the second one which to me contains a lot of commercial blah blah hubba bubba. This album represents the apex, pinnacle, or whatever of how big a guitarist’s ego can get. And I think it’s stellar. You can barely hear the drums once the guitar solos start – and well, they start a lot of the time, the only thing preventing another solo from starting is that the previous one isn’t finished yet!

    The production is the way it is because it’s about the guitar sound. The riffs go over everything except the solos. And the solos for the most part aren’t cacophony, it’s just played really fast. The songs for the most part have really big riffs, catchy choruses, super fast guitar – the recipe for headbanging for me. And in the current era where anyone on commercial radio having 10 seconds worth of guitar solo seems worthy of interviewers asking how they dared to do that, listening to this album is a worthy stress reliever for the brain as VVI sticks it a notch above even the late 80s standards of guitar soloism.

    If you want to hear pointless cacophony guitar with boring songs I refer you to Guy Mann-Dude’s album “Sleight of Hand” from 1989. To me, your review sounds fitting to that album. I will keep listening to my second copy of VVI (the first one I got was warped enough to hop the needle) and keep liking it until I get all old and start saying things like “yeah, slow is better, why have so many notes when you could play just one with feeling”. Until such time, then.

    -RokRoland

    P.S. Anyone who makes an album that never ends should be compensated at least half a point on any scale. The last song ends with guitar feedback that is cut to vinyl in such a way that the album keeps looping forever. So, not recommended to put this on if you are about to pass out.

Leave a Reply

