Triumph – “Progressions Of Power” (1980)

TriumphTriumph were a Canadian rock institution in the late seventies and throughout the eighties.  For Triumph, success was hard-earned.  They were renown for their live act most of all — although they did have a handful of moderately successful FM radio hits.  All the while it seems that Triumph lived in the shadow of Rush — another Canadian power trio experiencing great success during the same time period.  Triumph were not favored by critics and where often (unfairly) called “a poor man’s Rush”.

With Progressions Of Power, Triumph delivered a fairly consistent slab of upbeat, non-threatening arena rock.  Like their band name implies, Triumph radiated a positive, “can-do” attitude in many of their songs.  I Live For The Weekend and I Can Survive (my personal fave) are two prime examples of quintessential Triumph.  These are songs meant to get the live audience on their feet and singing along.  The only time things get a little sketchy on Progressions Of Power is the sappy, easy listening of Take My Heart on side two (although I’ve warmed up to it over time).  The album recovers though, and closes strong with the acoustic instrumental Fingertalkin’ and the convincing finale Hard Road.  My score: B+     

2 thoughts on “Triumph – “Progressions Of Power” (1980)

  1. You perfectly described Progressions Of Power. This was my first taste of Triumph. I was 13 when it was released but since they got no airplay here in the U.S. I wasn’t ready to shell out $5-$6 on a band I never heard, in spite of the awesome album cover. Then one of my go-to record stores had a going-out-of-business sale and I got Progressions Of Power for around $1. I was hooked by the first song and knew I found a new favorite band. I still prefer Just A Game, Allied Forces and Never Surrender, but it’s still an excellent record and I’ll always have a special connection to it.

Leave a Reply

